Some girls, every day searching, keep the page turning.

I went on Tinder because I was curious.
Yeah, I know. That was a crazy thing to do after dating a guy for almost two years. I couldn’t help it, though. I am a curious person by nature. As Joey Tribbiani would say, “I’m as curious as…GEORGE!”

I met my ex-boyfriend online, but on a more serious dating site. I’m sure there are serious people on Tinder (I was just talking to one), but I’m going to go ahead and assume that the people on there aren’t necessarily looking for a long-term commitment.

I got addicted to the swiping, for sure. It’s intoxicating, knowing that there are so many options out there. It’s even more addicting knowing that some of these people have the chance of forming an attraction to you. 

(Side note: I wish I could write people’s profiles for them.  I’ve seen some truly awful ones in the short time I’ve been on Tinder.)

The disheartening part is when you match with people who don’t even bother saying anything to you, but I was prepared for that. As they say, “This isn’t my first rodeo.” I did start talking to someone but to make a long story short, we parted on good terms. It was the wrong time for me and anyone I would meet now wouldn’t have a chance of being anything but a rebound to me. 

I might keep Tinder on my phone. Will I take it seriously? Probably not. Will I keep looking? Maybe. But I’m slowly remembering (after almost two years of being in a committed relationship), that I don’t need to be with someone in order to be happy. If the app disappeared from my phone, I probably wouldn’t miss it. I’ll keep an open mind, sure. But for now, the heart is off limits. It’s time for a different kind of story. 

Leave a Reply

